Our Board

Debra Rigby – Vice Chair

Debra Rigby was admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Tasmania in 1982. From 1984 to 1997 she was employed as Criminal Counsel for the Legal Aid Commission of Tasmania and from 1991 was Deputy Director of that organisation. From 1997 until 1999 she was a Principal Legal Officer with the Legislation, Policy and Strategic Direction Division of the Department of Justice and Industrial Relations.  In 1997 she was appointed Commissioner for Criminal Injuries Compensation and in 1999 President of the Mental Health Tribunal and Chair of the Forensic Tribunal. She held these roles concurrently until February 2014 when she became full time in her role as Commissioner for Criminal Injuries Compensation.

In 2009 she was awarded a Masters of Laws Degree. Her thesis looked at legislation governing involuntary detention of mental health patients both nationally and internationally and suggested reforms for the Tasmanian legislation.

Patrick Carlisle – Treasurer

PCPatrick moved to Tasmania in 2005 and took up the role of CEO of Richmond Fellowship of Tasmania and over the last five years has expanded the service by fourfold and increased to a Statewide presence. During this time Patrick has been involved in the transformation of the mental health arena via his involvement in setting the State Mental Health Strategic Plan, participating in the Legislative Council’s review of mental health, member of the Mental health Council of Tasmania’s Board of Management and TasCOSS’s ‘Community Services Industry Plan 2009-2012.’

Previously he has been a Board member of numerous community service organisations including ARAFMI WA (the peak MH carer organisation). For nearly five years Patrick was the Business Manager for Fremantle Hospital Mental Health Clinical Diretorate which covered inpatient, outpatient, community teams for CAMHS, Adult and Psycho-geriatric.

Dr Susan Cherry

Dr Susan Cherry was raised on the central coast of NSW attending Gosford High School.  She graduated from University of Sydney in 1975 MBBS and completed two years at Royal Prince Alfred hospital.

Dr Cherry worked as a country GP for 8 years in Dubbo gaining valuable clinical experience.

She has lived and worked in WA for 16 years and brought up 2 children in the West.  Since moving back to the Eastern States Dr Cherry has gained training in mental health and uses these skills extensively in general practice in Hobart.  Dr Cherry has become aware of The Hobart Clinic’s important role in the community and is keen to contribute.

Dr Jacob George

Dr George arrived in Tasmania in 1974 following completion of Membership in Psychiatry in U.K. to take up the position as Consultant Psychiatrist at The Royal Derwent Hospital in New Norfolk.

In 1979 moved to Hobart to take up the position as Medical Superintendent of John Edis Hospital and State Director of Alcohol and Drug Service of Tasmania.

In 1992 he was appointed as the first Co-ordinator of Alcohol and Drug Studies at the University of Tasmania and also as the State Advisor to Minister for Health and Department of Health on Alcohol and Drugs.

He holds a D.P.M – Conjoint Board of Examinations. London, M.R.C.Psych – Royal College of Psychiatrists – U.K., F.A.F.P.H.M – Australian Faculty of Public Health Medicine, F.A.Ch.A.M. – Royal Australian College of Physicians, F.R.A.N.Z.C.P. – Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Psychiatrists.

He has held membership of the following Statutory bodies and Committees:  Chairperson:    Interdepartmental Committee on Drug Strategy, Chairperson:  R.H.H & Alcohol & Drug Service Liaison Committee, Vice -Chairman:  Alcohol & Drug Dependency Board, Leader:  Ministerial Committee on Drug Strategies Tasmanian Division, State Representative: National Methadone Committee, Present member of Alcohol and Drug Dependency Tribunal, Left Tasmanian Department of Health in 1997 and moved into Private Practise mainly specialising in Addiction Medicine and Chronic Pain Management.

Dr George retired in July 2015 from private practice in Psychiatry.

Allison Clark

A highly experienced executive Allison has an unrivalled background in leading change and innovation in the primary industry.  Most recently the General Manager, Marketing & Innovation at Houston’s Farm she was a key member of the Business Management Team and responsible for managing both the national sales and marketing team in addition to leading product development.  Previous roles have been in the civil construction, forestry industries, and primary industry (livestock, horticulture) sectors and have included the management of both quality, environmental, and risk management systems to ISO standards.

 Allison is passionate and proactive about finding the drivers for change and is known for challenging the status quo and being an inspiring leader.  She has a history of playing a significant part on various Boards and committees, both within primary industry and the community sector and holds an MBA (Agricultural Innovation).

In 2014, Allison was successful in winning the Private and Corporate Award for the Telstra Business Women’s Awards (Tasmania), was a National Finalist in the Private and Corporate Sector category, and a finalist in the Business Innovation Award (Tasmania).

Wendy Quinn

Dean Johnson – Chairman

DeanJohnsonDean is a Chartered Accountant with more than 15 years experience including a short period working at contract assignments in the UK and Europe.  He is a partner with Wise, Lord & Ferguson Chartered Accountants in Hobart specialising in the provision of accounting, financial forecasting, financial modelling, taxation, financial services and strategic advice to prominent Hobart businesses.

He holds a B.Com, Diploma of Financial Services, is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and a registered tax agent.